I Was A Middle Aged Writer

March 13, 2009

To Color or….

Filed under: writing — danielrdavis @ 12:18 am
Tags: ,

Greetings,

My map for one of my fantasy novels is nearly complete, but now I’m going back and forth over the idea of coloring the thing or not.  The plusses to coloring it are that I can show the ocean, coastal and lake depth on the map.  I can also show by color what is grassland, wasteland, swampland, steppes, etc.  The downside is that if the pic is used for the book it’ll be in black and white anyway so all that color will become gray scale.  The other option is just to make the depths as dotted lines and leaving it as is.  Then again, if I do end up getting the book published I may want someone to remake the entire map to look better than I can get it with my meager drawing skills.

If anyone has any thoughts on this go ahead and toss ’em out here.

Thanks,

D

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.