I Was A Middle Aged Writer

May 21, 2009

I’m Torn

Filed under: writing — danielrdavis @ 6:33 pm
Tags: , ,

Ever have one of those stories that suddenly has two separate endings?  Well, I do.  I wanted to write a short story recently for a magazine, Crossed Genres, specifically.  I started writing one based on one of the upcoming genres.  It was coming along fine.  I’d even realized that I’d found some way to incorporate Sci-Fi or fantasy into the story.  Great.  One problem.  I suddenly realized that the story could have two separate endings and become two separate stories with the same beginning depending on how I wanted to write it.

So now I’m torn for a couple reasons.  Both are viable stories.  Now I’m trying to decide which one would be more likely to be picked up by Crossed Genres.  One has a more supernatural horror styled element to it while the other is very much more upbeat and heroic.

I’ve got time, since it’s for the child fiction, so I may end up writing both versions and then trying to get feedback from some folks on which they like better.  Both stories have a nice twist and I really like both versions, but I continually come back to wondering which one Crossed Genres might prefer.

I honestly prefer the darker elements of the first one, but from what I’ve read from their mag so far I haven’t seen a lot of darker styled stories.  Now, I’m not sure if that’s a choice they made for the magazine or just that they don’t get many darker themed stories that mesh fantasy/sci-fi, their chosen genre, and dark horror/suspense elements together.  I’d almost hate to write the thing and then not have any place to send it to if they’re not interested in darker stories.  I also can’t really send both to them at the same time, as it would likely be considered a multiple submission.  If one gets accepted the other will pretty much become obsolete, having the same exact beginning, but I’m not too worried about that.  I’ve repaired worse things.

The beginning of the story may also be something that they’re going to get a lot of submissions for, being a theme that’s fairly common, but my twist is the bit that will make the whole thing worthwhile.  I’m taking the common and making it very uncommon by the end in both versions.

The story’s going to be good, whichever way I go on it.  It’s just deciding which one to use that will be the major issue.  Guess we’ll see what happens when I get them written.

I’ll post again on this as things progress and hopefully I’ll be posting about how it was accepted.  Fingers crossed on all counts.

D

1 Comment »

  1. A quick note. I never got to send the short to Crossed Genres. I got it mostly finished, but never got it sent. I had a novel push to the forefront and then a film script.

    Comment by danielrdavis — September 11, 2009 @ 9:58 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

