I Was A Middle Aged Writer

May 26, 2009

The Return to the Script of Doom, and other subjects

Filed under: Uncategorized — danielrdavis @ 8:30 pm

Greetings,

So, I just finished updating the blog.  I finally figured out how to change the font size, and then I had to manually add paragraph breaks in HTML.  Yay, what fun…  All to make it easier to read.  Even I was having a hard time reading it and I’m far sighted.

So, what should rear its ugly head again?  The script.  Yep.  Whenever I think I’m free it drags me back in.  Evidently, they want more scenes with the major bad guys.  It flows much better the way it is now and puts the story emphasis on the survivors, not the villains, but I’ll come up with something, I guess.  Still, it’s excellent the way it is. They are the clients though.  It’s not my script anyway.

Still, I’d like to see the thing shine, since we’re going to be doing special effects for it as well.  We’ll see what happens.  I may want to use a pen name on it, just in case.

The thing that irritates me about the script popping back up again and again is that I’m pretty much getting paid about a third to half as much as the amount of time and work is worth and it constantly cuts into my other projects that could be making money every time I have to do this.  As I type this I’m now putting aside a short story that has a deadline to work on the script again.  The recent changes will likely take a couple days easy, perhaps more, as I have to somehow add more action to an ending that pretty much kills 6 of the 11 remaining characters in the story, both good and evil.  Another major issue is that the antagonists are more powerful than the protagonists, and there’s more of them, making it difficult to have the good guys, of which there’s only one strong one in that group, go all action Jackson.  So…yeah.  It’s going to be a tough one.  And I’m NOT going to add a giant spider.  Bonus points if you got that reference. I’m thinking I may not want to keep traveling down the script revisionist road, unless I can come up with a contract that insures I get paid each time I have to work and revise a script.

On another note, I got a little case of melancholia last night.  I’m starting to think that I’m a man out of time.  One of those people that no one “gets” until years later.  I’m good.  I know I’m good.  That’s not just vanity, though there may be a little of that in there as well.  It just seems like no one really listens to what I have to say or pays attention to the details.  It’s all about killing and blood and guts, and not about telling a quality story with characters that make sense and a plot that actually makes your brain sit up and take notice.  That’s probably why I’d make a far better novelist than a script writer (I always knew that though), but other pesky things keep getting in the way of my novel writing.  Nothing worth doing is ever easy, but I wish I could simplify things at least a little bit.  Even moreso, I wish I could find focus. I just feel like I’m failing every time my novel/short story work grinds to a halt because of other outside influences or my own occasional lack of focus.

In part I know what I have to do.  However, that means basically focusing on a task and pretty much making everything else take a back seat, FX, scripts, etcetera.  If I honestly think that the writing is going to be a success I need to just do it and drop other things until it’s done.  And to make matters worse, it’s spring and our daughter wants to go outside every day, which I can’t do if I’m working on the computer.  My kingdom for a laptop.

Well, I better try to get some focus today and work.  Just thought I’d come by and update and make the blog easier to read for those interested in doing so.

D

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

