I Was A Middle Aged Writer

August 7, 2009

And The Script Looms

Filed under: Uncategorized — danielrdavis @ 1:47 pm

Since I haven’t written an update on here in a while I figured it was about time I do so.  The novel had to take a minor backseat…well, it’s more like riding shotgun, but is reclined back and enjoying the ride with a little nap.

The script I didn’t have to work on I found myself having to not only work on, but get caught back up on schedule.  The people wanting to give the film a $6mil budget wanted some changes to the script, but I was told I didn’t need to worry about it, since I was going out of town when they wanted the rewrites started.  Cool.  So I went on my trip and didn’t worry about things…and that was my first mistake.

Then, I get back from our little trip to Indiana and Chicago and get asked if I think I can work on the script AND write at least 40 pages of rewrites in a half a week…  Seems the guys wanting to front the money for the film run a tight ship and were on a schedule where they wanted 25 pages revised per week and the person who was chosen for rewrites gave them seven.  Yep, seven pages.  I can sort of see why he gave them seven, seeing as he started rewriting the entire script from scratch when that wasn’t what was needed.  However, it lost him a job.

So, I donned my Writerman cape, the superhero cape that has the quill and inkpot insignia on the back, put my fists on my hips, struck a heroic pose and I got to work.  I didn’t take off my glasses like Clark Kent does because unlike him, I actually need them to see.  I burned through the changes and additions, even though I didn’t have a really good idea of what they wanted besides more action and gore and got them their 40 pages by the weekend…I’d started on Wednesday.  Of course, they loved them.  Supposedly some minor changes to be done later, but they liked the changes a lot.  That was only last weekend.

This week I not only got them the rest of the way caught up, but put them ahead of their schedule.  I’d say possibly another week and I’ll have the rest of the script retooled, which puts them ahead of schedule by about a week, which is enough time to get the third draft possibly done, depending on how complex their changes are and whether they give me a good idea as to what they want.

The script itself is coming out to be around 120 pages, which by script writing protocol comes out to be supposedly a 2 hour film.  It likely won’t be, since creative editing and minor cuts, and dissolves, line delivery speed, action sequence speed, etc, can go a long way to making a film a bit shorter.  It’ll still likely come down to being an hour and fifty minutes probably; a respectable length for a feature film, especially one of this caliper, which can easily find distribution and theater play, if it’s filmed well.  Fingers crossed.

I’ve been told that the writing credit may glean a decent sum of money as well, so that was the real deciding factor for picking the project back up and setting the novel aside for a time.  Still, I’m getting antsy to get back to the novel.  I was almost finished with the first draft.  Another seven thousand words, possibly and I would have been done.  I think I’m going to take a break from the script for a day, since it’s ahead of schedule and work on the novel a bit today.

One thing is certain though, I am a little nervous about the lack of solid numbers, as far as the pay goes.  I’d rather have a definite number on that instead of a possible number.  Call me paranoid, but I’ve been screwed over before working film and I quit working on a novel that has great potential to do the rewrites.  I’ve been told in the past that a beginning author could gain a contract of around $17k on a first novel, so setting it aside is a big decision and possibly detrimental.  So again, my fingers are crossed for a decent paycheck from this.  If it’s not much more than a few hundred bucks I’ll be pretty annoyed.  With luck I’ve impressed these guys and they’ll pay decent to keep me interested in working with them in the future.

And there you have it.  There’s the skinny on what I’ve been up to instead of finishing my novel.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get back to it soon and get the thing published.  Stay tuned.

D

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

